Digital Pen and Ink Illustrations


Here are some of my assignments from earlier this semester.

For my Illustration Techniques class, our first assignment was to draw a line/pen and ink  illustration, which we “inked” on the computer.

This is my sketch for the illustration.

We were able to draw anything we wanted and I chose a superior (top) view of the heart valves.

The next step was to bring this sketch into Corel Painter and to start tracing over my lines with the brush tool.  As I started creating this illustration on the computer with my Wacom tablet (a tablet that you draw on by using a stylus/digital pen- which allows the user to draw straight on the computer) I realized that some of the lines I had initially drawn in my sketch needed to be changed.  I made these changes on my Wacom tablet as I created the illustration.

Here’s my final illustration:


I really enjoyed working on this illustration and would definitely like to do some more line drawings in the future!

~ by leah0klein on May 9, 2011.

3 Responses to “Digital Pen and Ink Illustrations”

  1. The pen and ink techniques are outstanding. Looking forward to seeing more posts.

  2. Hi there,
    Beautiful work! I found this illustration through a simple google search… Trying to find tips on replicating the inking I do with a real pen+nib while using my wacom tablet.
    Do you have any tips on what kind of brush setting to use?

    • Thank you!! There are some nice brushes that you can use in Corel Painter. Their scratchboard tools/brushes replicate inking with a pen and nib really well when using a wacom tablet. I’ve also customized some brushes in Photoshop and have found those to work well too.

Leave a comment