Medical Instrument Modeling

The first assignment in my Computer Visualization class was to model a medical instrument in 3dsmax  (a 3D modeling, animation, and rendering program).  The medical instrument I chose was a bone chipper- used to chip away at bone during surgery.  Once we modeled the instrument, we were to add textures and lighting.  This was a really challenging assignment! The modeling was hard but I learned so much in the process.

Here is the first version:

After the critique for this assignment, I went back and made some revisions.  I changed the instrument’s orientation and tweaked some of the modeling .  I also worked with the lighting to bring out the modeling a little better and changed the inset to show the instrument open.  Finally, I brought it into Photoshop to add some chips/dents to the top of the instrument and for some final tweaks.  I really like how this version turned out!

~ by leah0klein on June 1, 2011.

One Response to “Medical Instrument Modeling”

  1. Nice job! Show us more!!!!

Leave a comment